• Alert:

    A week of grab and go meals will be available for pick at Canfield High School by the tennis courts from 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. on Monday, June 1, 2020, for families participating in the Free and Reduced Lunch Program during the emergency remote learning. 

Close alert
Open vision bar

January Designated as School Board Recognition Month

school board

The Ohio School Boards Association is celebrating School Board Recognition Month!  January 2017 has been selected to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education member plays in our society.

The Canfield Local School District is joining with other districts throughout the state to recognize the important contributions school board members make to their communities. School Board Recognition Month honors the members of Ohio’s more than 700 city, exempted village, local and joint vocational boards of education and educational service center governing boards for their commitment to providing quality public education to Ohio’s school children.

“Ohioans benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 3,400 men and women across the state,” said Superintendent Alex Geordan. These public servants are elected to serve by local citizens and receive little compensation for their tireless efforts.  These men and women are the local school board members of Ohio.

These people selflessly contribute their time and talents toward the advancement of public education.  They represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision- making in education.  Even though we are making a special effort during January to show appreciation to our school board members, we recognize their contributions reflect a year-round commitment on their part.

These are the dedicated individuals serving Canfield Schools, and are committed to the continuing success of our schools and students: Phil Bova, since 2012, Nancy Lacich, since 2014, Craig Olson, since 2010, Barry Tancer, since 2014, Dave Wilkeson, since 2016.


Back to School News      Print News Article